The End is Near

Once upon a time I lived in Texas.  I was surrounded by people who loved me, friendly faces, a comfortable life.  One day something possessed me.  One day I decided to leave the comfortable life I lived to up and move to a city I’d never before been to and live with a girl I had never met.

Moving to Boston and living with Ashlyn was a huge change.  All of the sudden my comfortable life was turned upside down.  In this new city I had to live differently, work a little harder, and I had to not expect people to be friendly.  I needed my family more than I ever had before.  So we created our own little family.  Ashlyn and our cat became my new home and we only had each other to rely on.  Due to this and our common interests, we became best friends that year.  Our year was riddled with challenges, but we built a strong bond and explored the city together.  The memories we created from our adventures will always be a source of comfort to me.

Ashlyn will be graduating in just a few weeks, and I will be very sad to see her go.  Boston will not be as friendly of a place without my best pal here to support me, but I am proud of her.  In light of her upcoming graduation, I have spent even more time than usual reminiscing about our first year together.  From bed bugs, to apple picking, our pet cat, to our new friend Mohamed, we had a good year.  It was also definitely an eventful one.  I hope wherever Ashlyn goes from here, she is able to find a friend to be there for her the way she was here for me.

Leave a comment